The Eastern Surfing Association is excited to announce big changes to its All-Star program that will begin with its 2024 season.The highly sought-after All-Star Team acceptance will be invite-only with the removal of the application process and registration fee. This comes after several years of the ESA receiving over fifty applications each season, with 2023 seeing a record of 65 applications.

“For years the ESA All-Star Team has included the East Coast’s best amateur surfers,” said ESA executive director Michelle Sommers. “Offering this as an invite-only program ensures that Coach Motes, along with our All-Star Team members, committee and district directors will choose the most skilled competitive surfers to represent the ESA.”

Some of the criteria to getting an invite includes district, regional and Easterns results, strong support of the ESA and overall attitude towards competing, sportsmanship and being a part of a team within an independent sport.

“It’s going to be amazing to build our 2024 All-Star Team with ESA’s top surfers,” said All-Star Team Coach Motes. “This will allow more individual attention and exposure for each team member to build on their surfing goals.”

Invitations will be sent by the end of November for a January 2024 team introduction.

Also new for 2024, the ESA will be introducing its ESA Developmental Team for its members who may not be at the All-Star Team level yet, but who are willing to work in hopes of getting there.

The ESA Developmental Team is a valuable opportunity for dedicated ESA members looking to elevate their skills through professional coaching with Coach Motes. While not yet at the level required for the ESA All-Star Team, members of the ESA Developmental Team will have access to personalized feedback by sharing video clips with Coach Motes. Additionally, they will receive coaching at regional and Easterns events. Other training activities may be planned throughout the year.

For more information, including criteria and application for the ESA Developmental Team, please visit the ESA All-Star Team webpage.